A Note to Love

Is it alright if I call you mine,

even when we were never together?

Can two hearts not still be linked?

In my mind can be your sorrows,

in my heart your dreams–

if only you had let me in.

And yet I feel a pleasant calm

in knowing you are mine,

but still one, our own.

Stand under the sun’s warm breath

and feel me;

walk on the ocean’s side 

and know you pull me,

in with the tide with a soul 

I knew how to know, even now.

I wish to you a happy heart

that is never heavy,

a bottomless pit

that you can rise out of–

even without me, above.

March 10, 2014

Leave a Reply

