Moving In

I can’t think

of a more comfortable place

to stay while looking

for that new home outside of me:

a high, lofted ceiling

with sunlight hanging off the edges;

a 1980’s glass-top table

covered with lace cloth mom made

just for me;

the wide, open windows

that look out over nothing,

over everything in the old,

sand-filled courtyard,

its folding chairs and small bushes.

It feels like my insides,

how I do not always like them–

but it’s home, for now.

April 11, 2014

Leave a Reply

