A Tree

I am a tree–

so how can it be

that all I see is water,

the sun bouncing its heat

off currents like a daydream,

wrapping its rays around my mind

to bring it ease, to embrace, calm me?

 

I am a tree–

and yet I am fond of the ocean

with its no-limitations,

its effortless breaking with the tide,

its wiping away of sand, souls clean.

 

See, I am a tree–

rooted instead to a path

where a trunk holds true,

my branches gazing out at every wish,

every possibility and granting them a kiss

in the passing wind, my gentle wave.

April 4, 2014

Leave a Reply

