In A Rut

for a friend

So I’m bad at this–

just want

to let you know up front.

 

The whole “vulnerability”

thing leaves me

stuck in a rut,

 

Unwilling to go outside

just to reveal another secret layer,

peel myself like a fresh orange,

 

Ready for my friends’ juicing.

I want plump!

I want raw!

 

But I want “exposed” and “hidden”

in two separate boxes,

thank you very much.

 

Speaking (“words” we call

them?) is too hard

when my tongue feels like sandpaper,

 

Caught along

the same rut

I forgot about yesterday.

May 1, 2014

Leave a Reply

