The Shore

We’re all

on a journey

to let go.

 

Who said

that the cat’s in the cradle

when my arm’s in a sling

with my head wrapped down

like four corners of a box

under the tree?

 

I can break a limb

but not my heart—

and God forbid my mind.

 

When flashbacks come to me

like scenes from a movie

and all I can think is,

“Was that me yesterday

or 7 years ago?”

 

Could it be both?

 

Could it be

that our “selves”

are continually packaged,

not perfectly with a bow

but pinned down like craft paper,

a collage of foam

on the edge of the wave

that must crash down

before we reach the shore?

August 7, 2014

2 thoughts on “The Shore

  1. This paints a perfect portrait – of all of us. This piece reminds me of a great quote by David Foster Wallace – “Everything I’ve ever let go of has claw marks on it”.

Leave a Reply

