Together

To say

I live the highest life

would not be far off course

for I sail

to my own wind–

it turns the sails

as I do.

And yet

I know the voices in your head

can lead you off track

as your own voice sinks

down

to a lost narrative–

until you finally rise up

to the brink.

Wide

open sky

as a simile would say

“mine

is ours”

for “I” cannot exist

without “us”

and “eternity”

is filled with the eternal breath

of strangers

that are nevertheless

brothers

and to imagine a life

without fear

is to see a real heaven,

with love,

spilling over the sides.

December 1, 2014

Leave a Reply

