Uncertainty

Hard as a rock

I fall to my knees

and wish to never see

again the look

on mother’s face

when pleading at the table,

“I will follow you,

I do.”

 

To sink lower

into the ground

my face has discovered

uncertainty,

awaiting the voice of a God

and some other man

I’d never wish to meet–

perhaps I’ll be him instead,

stand tall and relax

my shaky pores,

opening up into the all-florescent

light to omit a single,

unwanted presence:

uncertainty,

pressing its face on my nerves.

 

August 19, 2014

7 thoughts on “Uncertainty

Leave a Reply

