Wo-Men

We are women-

as if from the beginning

of time we’ve depended

on “men” to fill our “wo”

because woe

could never be enough

for a pathway to existence

to withstand

 

They called me baby

as I walked

the 6th street sidewalk-

do they understand

I have more language

than that of my body

 

I am a woman,

but I do not need

a man to prove it-

he is an extra sweetness

in this time

and when the time is right

he’ll come,

I’ll come,

knowing I’d be happy

with or without him

and my Cosmopolitan,

vodka tonic, high-class magazine:

“Look sexy for your man,”

why can’t I just look

fulfilled

for myself

 

without Disney telling me

I’m a princess in need of a prince,

why am I only allowed

to feel beautiful

when I have a man on my shoulder

 

without my grandmothers’

extra glow

when it comes to marriage

 

propose to me this:

a man will love me

when the time is right,

and yet it is always time

to love the woman-

the complete woman-

in me.

 

February 27, 2015

8 thoughts on “Wo-Men

  1. So damn true, especially in this: ” Look sexy for your man,”
    why can’t I just look
    fulfilled
    for myself ”
    I totally agree with your point, at many levels and in many ways. πŸ‘

Leave a Reply

