Like I Love Myself

Every time

the moon moves

my heart seems to be

in a different place…

 

And yet

the one place

I know that it will stay

is the most important–

 

Indefinitely.

 

Whoever will love me

like I love myself

but better–

that is who will stay.

 

That’s who

I will keep in my front pocket,

my golden chain, my heart

beating into an infinity

that is a too-soon,

 

Not-enough-time kind of love.

 

Until then,

I have the better–

well, the best–

things:

life,

love,

 

And me.

 

March 11, 2015

5 thoughts on “Like I Love Myself

Leave a Reply

