Facebook Reflection

Facebook is the ultimate look into past, present, future

into comparing and contrasting

into “too good” or “not good enough.”

.

Let’s give it a rest, already.

.

Me, you,

we’re narratives–

of course we are not the same person we were yesterday.

.

We learn, we grow, we fall,

we show the world that it’s forever above us,

the way it should be.

.

I have too many other things to do in my life

to make time for worrying–

words to write,

pictures to draw,

tattoos to contemplate,

people to admire and adore.

.

Look into my eyes to read me,

light browns with just a hint of green

I am whole–

you don’t need my Facebook to complete the picture.

.

Stop the craze.

This moment is enough.

.

When the Internet crashes,

what will be left to hand down to our children,

our grandchildren?

.

I want them to be warm in our hand-woven scarves,

in wonder of the way technology made our lives fuller,

not our egos.

.

I want to connect to you,

but can’t the pictures wait?

Your thoughts wait?

Can’t we accept that we will never be able to craft ourselves

or time

into anything other than the beautiful imperfection they are?

.

Love me, fully,

please.

.

Not for my profile picture, my cover photo,

not my number of likes

or history of boyfriends.

.

Love me fully, simply,

for me.

.

May 31, 2015

4 thoughts on “Facebook Reflection

Leave a Reply

