Ego..

How hard it is

to live with Ego.

.

Now that I’ve not only see his face

I’ve heard his voice

I’ve listened to his song–

he doesn’t need to sing any longer.

.

And yet

how do I tell the stomach below me

to stop clenching like a fist

as my sister is hit on at the bar,

three times I stand on, passerby

and boy number two reassuringly states,

“You’re okay, but she’s…”

Knowing your standards

and having them met by those around you

are two entirely different things.

.

I brush my teeth,

one tooth at a time

like a child

I take my time

to remember that time is not real

only “now” is “real”

how “real” is “I”?

.

I’ve learned I have to stop taking myself

so seriously

when the term “myself,”

has already been exhausted by society;

no need for me to spin it round.

.

It plays games with Ego

spinning round like a top

at least I now know to slow down.

.

I need to slow down.

.

We need,

fellow love-torn-patience-worn-thin-

when-this-world-itsn’t-even-ours-to-begin-with-

humans,

to slow down.

.

July 11, 2015

2 thoughts on “Ego..

Leave a Reply

