My Mind

At times,

I feel nervous–

nervous that it

is stronger than me.

*

It can make any situation into a problem,

labeling itself a “worry wart”

(and who would ever want to be a wart?)

this is my fear:

*

It will change my relationships

it will tarnish my career

it will make all the beauty I’ve felt inside of me

feel meaningless.

*

It is crazy to think I’m not alone.

*

The truth is that beauty is eternal,

and my mind

will never be stronger than my presence,

patient like a willow

it will flow in the breeze,

follow me step by worry torn step

relaxing my insides,

releasing the mountain of love

that lives inside my chest–

it lives in all of us.

*

Sometimes,

I read quotes;

maybe they will make me feel “better”

maybe they will “fix” my mind–

I know only I can.

*

At all times,

I know there is timelessness,

the truth,

our only savior,

waiting for my heart to forgive my head,

catch up with my soul,

and allow myself

to lay,

still.

*

September 20, 2015

Bein vulnerable on this Sunday.  Peace and love. ❤ 

5 thoughts on “My Mind

  1. Hi RJ,

    It’s been too long since I’ve found my way here… I know this feeling well, if I am reading it correctly– the sensation that our despair or our disconnectedness may run roughshod and we’ll not be able to prevent it from bleeding into the places and relationships we love. As you wrote in your lovely piece here, your presence will out. Your mind doesn’t need to be fixed… just allowed to take a break from its strange notions of responsibility… 🙂

    Wishing you peace!
    Michael

Leave a Reply

