Anxiety

When you open up about it

I’m not promising it will be easy.

.

When the air becomes thick

like white cream cheese

and you can’t simply scrape off the edges

with a knife you wonder

who else is feeling this way?

.

I thought my mother did;

but she said, “What I’m feeling is physical,”

I thought the government did;

but they said, “She’s a terrorist

and he has a mental health problem,”

I thought a suicide every thirteen minutes

would be enough to prove

our grasp on this epidemic is not tight enough.

.

I want to say,

“This is physical,”

when it crashes over me

like a war-torn tide,

daily sabotage not unlike your migraine

I wish I could go swallow an Aspirin

but one pill in the middle of an ocean

will not magically make the water calmer.

.

It is when we realize that we are

the water,

the tide,

each speck of sand we trickle onto

they are sprinkled in our bones–

not unlike the stars

the heavens will always be there,

waiting.

.

For even at your worst,

peace is always flowing;

anxiety

is not you,

it is just a word

you may not feel it now

but feel your breath–

it has not left you yet

the beauty found in nature

is found in your own skin,

still waters under roaring currents

just as Love sits

under pain,

patiently.

.

When you open up about it

I’m not promising it will be easy.

.

I’m promising it will be worth it.

.

December 20th, 2015

spread some love today and speak your truth– you are worth it

6 thoughts on “Anxiety

  1. Reblogged this on CELONA'S BLOG and commented:
    Reaching Joy
    poetry, love & stuff.
    Great with words and in sync with reality.
    Had to share with you fam 😉

    So I would be doing reblogs on celonaiphyblog.wordpress.com a platform where Expressions Meet Reality with a preferred style I tagged “ink on sheet”

    Anything Creative, inspirational, Motivational, with an attitude of laying Bare truth and raw emotions is welcomed on here.
    Let stretch hands of support and love together with the language of “REAL” works of art. #Bless

    Just follow!! And we in it together 😉

    And if your preferred platform is facebook join us at #Okpere’s; Circle https://mobile.facebook.com/okperecircle/?ref=bookmarks

    If on wordpress; Please edit this post, add ‘Celona’s Blog’ to your ‘tag list’ and share with your community.. It helps you and I build something cool together.

    #DannyDrayInspired
    #Celonarants™
    #OkpereCircle
    #MeetandGreet
    #MerryChrismas

  2. Pingback: Anxiety | rimaalalamy

Leave a Reply

