While Walking

A division in the concrete

warrants a bruised knee,

some pep in the step,

perhaps a quick jump-and-skip;

you never want to break

your leg

but you go on,

hoping for the best…

 

Luck was never with me.

Luck was always with a friend.

 

And I was neither friend

nor foe–

what does that make me?

 

What does that do

to make the grass greener

as I leap to the other side

I want to hear God

scream my name,

tell me all will be okay

that the ditch below me

will not be my only home

dollar bills my only friends.

 

I need fresh air to breathe

before I need new policy

(too bad fate landed me in this century).

 

In the pitter patter of rain

I stop and wait

for the pen to start,

the mind to move

and ink to pour out–

just as the sky empties itself,

my heart needs release.

 

I spare

the crack in the sidewalk

not for my mother and her back

but for my sanity–

I’d rather my soul fly

than my spirit fall.

 

December 23, 2015

11 thoughts on “While Walking

  1. May your soul fly, RJ. I was touched by the line about being neither friend nor foe. It reminded me of the the places we find ourselves sometimes in this life– caught in between, pushed and pulled, surrounded by “sides”, none of which we wish to take against the other. Perhaps you know this place… Your words illuminate the geometries all of us share together…

    Peace
    Michael

    • Thanks so much, Michael. That’s a beautiful way to put it– as of late I have thought about it in regards to politics…having to always “pick a side.” We are all multi-faceted, filled with different stories and beliefs.

  2. Experiencing this creation was like taking an enjoyable adventure on a river, never knowing what awaited just around each bend, but looking forward to the emotions, images, and memories it would evoke with each turn.

  3. In the pitter patter of rain

    I stop and wait

    for the pen to start,

    the mind to move

    and ink to pour out–

    just as the sky empties itself,

    my heart needs release.

    I am here all too often, and yet find with time, with the right friends to guide, the pen flows with joyous release…wish all days can be filled this way, but sometimes just to let go without expectation, is the finest journey that unfolds. Peace and blessings, Kim

Leave a Reply

