on lunch break

how nice it is

to sit by the river and unwind,

blink by

blink.

 

you know your same-old view

in the city:

skyscraper tree tops

that leave you wanting for a chickadee

 

where can I find just one bird?

(the pigeons are beautiful, mind you.)

 

I yearn to hear a song;

the water gives it to me–

it gives it to us

as long as I keep my ears open

I can hear it all the way from the skyline.

 

remind me how love songs go, again?

does he start?

am I the minor chord?

 

the wind trickles in;

between my toes

the water hums.

 

my shoulders sigh

as I remember how easy it must have been

 

to let

doors open

before windows closed,

families eat meals together

after swimming through the day.

 

the world stills;

my eyes close;

and I tell my heart,

“It’s okay

to remain

open.”

623d119e2a5debfd6b756495d7778af9.jpg

January 21, 2016

11 thoughts on “on lunch break

  1. Very nice, RJ. It is amazing how nature can reach into our cities and provide those winks of the beyond that nurture us. I have sat by the water or beneath the trees for many a lunch hour, and felt the world’s movement– so vast and deep– that is immune to the concerns that adhere to me in the office like cockleburrs…

    Peace
    Michael

Leave a Reply

